Book Reviews Books Giveaways

Review and Giveaway of DISRUPTOR by Arwen Elys Dayton

DISRUPTOR, the final book of the Seeker Series by Arwen Elys Dayton, gives a satisfying conclusion to a complex and multi-connective fantasy adventure.

Arwen Elys Dayton doesn’t mess around. You’ve got to know what you’re getting into before you start, or else you may just be trying to hang out to understand what is going on in this world of the Seekers. While some authors may try to refresh your memory of what’s happened and where exactly we left off from the last book, don’t expect that going on here. Re-read the previous books and skim through to get the highlights, or challenge yourself and your memory by just diving into Disruptor.

Any way you go about reading the third and final book, you’re in for a whirlwind of a journey. Because I’m one of those that doesn’t go back (simply because I just don’t really have the time to do much re-reading,) I have to admit I was quite disoriented with what was going on, and why each character was when we left them in Traveler, book two of the series. But thinking about it that way, it was like being in there, where it takes time to get to where you start remembering everything.

Once you do, things start falling into place. You remember that Quin was left there by Shinobu because he wasn’t really thinking straight any longer and that John started working alongside Maud to make things right after Maud had killed the Middle Dread.

There was a lot to address, including what now? Well, we are introduced to a few more points of view in this one, including that of Nott, the twelve-year-old that was one of the Middle Dread’s evil Watchers. And then there’s Dex, a new character whose perspective we get to read from.

I was excited to learn more about them as the story went forward, but at the same time, I felt so out of it. There was so much to remember and so many events happening at the same time, it felt at times hard to keep up. But I continued forward, determined to push my mind to recall the little things, like the names of their houses and where each character was from.

What kept me going was the character development of each of them, and them even learning more about themselves, their strengths as well as their vulnerabilities. The problem is that I felt, often with the changing narratives and with a fairly good handful of them, frustrated because I couldn’t keep my focus on that specific character when another was presented to me. But again, this does happen when you’re dealing with multiple story arcs.

For that reason, though, I felt it could’ve been longer, if only to give us more time with the characters. That is usually why the final book of the series tends to be the longest, because they want to make sure that they have truly given their characters the time to develop enough to where the reader knows and understands each character’s transformation by the end.

However, having said that,  the book wasn’t lacking too much, and there was still enough in there for Dayton to give such descriptive moments, including the various battle scenes.

There were some disturbing  scenes in there that reinforced just how violent being a Seeker can be and how much Seekers are so desperately needed in this world. There were some moments that were just horrible for any person to endure, but I really was most affected by Nott’s relationship with his bat that he felt the need to simultaneously care for and berate, sometimes physically. Being an animal lover, it was hard to read through, but I got through it… with mild psychological scarring.

Overall, I enjoyed the series, and was glad to read about this whole world. It has unique elements regarding  objects and weaponry that Seekers use. The description of the locations and the method of travel are fascinating. The characters are real and none are perfect nor are they without redemptive qualities, which is always favorable for any book. It was both fun and fulfilling as a complete story, with Disruptor having a decent conclusion, though I do wish there was more on John and Maud, but still, I can’t complain.

Read the overview of the book below and enter for your chance to win a copy of Disruptor in our Rafflecopter! 

For readers of Sarah J. Maas and of Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy comes Disruptor, the sequel to Traveler and the thrilling conclusion to the Seeker series.

Quin has spent her life as her father’s pawn. She was trained to kill and manipulated to guarantee her family’s power. And now that she’s broken free of that life, she’s found herself trapped again, hostage to a plot that has been centuries in the making.
It’s taken generations for the pieces to come together, and finally all is in place. Her best friend Shinobu’s mind has been corrupted, the Young Dread has aligned with her enemy John, and the bloodthirsty Watchers are being awakened and gathered. Now there is nothing that can stop the force of time.
But Quin will no longer be a pawn. She’s a Seeker, who stands for light in a shadowy world. She will face the vengeance of the past and its enemies and save herself and the ones she loves, or she will die trying.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Please note: To enter the raffle, you must have a U.S. mailing address as we do NOT deliver internationally.

If you wish to go ahead and just order a copy of Disruptor, order them at any of the following sites:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

By Nat, the Geek Girl

Southern California native who likes movies, books (Shadowhunter Chronicles, NA, YA fantasy, Red Rising series), TV shows (The Sandman), and San Diego Comic-Con. I also like to write, but don't get to do much of that aside from on here. I fell into the BTS rabbit hole, and I refuse to leave.

Comments are closed.